Would you recognise child abuse?

I’m sure everyone would like to think they would notice if a child was being abused but, as recent high profile cases have shown, it’s not always an easy thing to spot.  The  government statutory guidance, Working Together to Safeguard Children 2013, identifies four main categories of child abuse; Physical abuse, Emotional abuse, Sexual abuse and Neglect.

Some signs and indicators of emotional abuse include:

Indicators of Emotional Abuse might include:

  • Physical, mental and emotional developmental delays
  • Needy or clingy
  • Difficulty with genuine trust, intimacy and affection
  • Negative, hopeless and negative view of self, family and society
  • Lack of empathy, compassion and remorse
  • Low self-esteem, deference and resignation
  • Change in appetite
  • Extremes of passivity and aggression
  • Poor concentration
  • Difficulty making friends
  • Sudden speech disorders
  • Unexplained fear, defensiveness, ambivalence

This is an extract from our Introduction to Child Protection training course which goes on to give more details about emotional abuse, along with details of the other categories of abuse.